Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

When we were kids on a long car trip, sometimes we’d sing “There’s a hole in the bottom of the sea” to pass the time.  And Mom would join in (or maybe she was leading it!) from the front seat. The plot of the song is sort of Seuss-esque:

There’s a hole in the bottom of the sea…
There’s a log in the hole in the bottom of the sea…
There’s a bump on the log in the hole in the bottom of the sea…
There’s a frog on the bump on the log in the hole in the bottom of the sea…
There’s a wart on the frog on the bump on the log in the hole…
There’s a hair on the wart….
There’s a flea on the hair…
There’s a leg on the flea…

And so on, as far as your imagination (and the length of the trip) will take you.

This endless chaining reminds me of scientists’ endless discovery of layer upon layer of wonders in outer space, in the cell and whatever other frontiers they may explore.  If the things they’ve found are fascinating, think how much more spectacular are the things yet to be discovered—smaller, farther, more intricate.  These are the Creator’s masterpieces, and I’m looking forward to learning about all of them in the real life beyond this one.

But there’s something more astounding than all of this:  My Creator knows and loves me personally and has gone to great expense to make me his friend.  Amazing indeed!

The Wonder of It All (by George Beverly Shea)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MS5-YJacjaI

There’s the wonder of sunset at evening,
The wonder as sunrise I see;
But the wonder of wonders that thrills my soul
Is the wonder that God loves me.

O, the wonder of it all! The wonder of it all!
Just to think that God loves me.

There’s the wonder of springtime and harvest,
The sky, the stars, the sun;
But the wonder of wonders that thrills my soul
Is a wonder that’s only begun.

Leave a comment