Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Doorkeepers

In the country where I live, every business, office, bank, and school  has at least one security guard at the door to keep out “unauthorized persons” and examine everyone’s bags for weapons. 

God’s Temple in Jerusalem also had gatekeepers and, judging from the space given to them in 1 Chronicles 26, this was an important responsibility.  They guarded the five gates plus the storehouse and the courtyard.  Their responsibilities included guarding the treasures kept inside the Temple and also keeping “unclean” things out of the Temple and its courts.  In New Testament times, this would include Gentiles, who were only allowed into the outermost court.  And even then, Jesus zealously expelled those who turned that area into a place to turn a profit.  Other examples of defilement of the Temple were when Herod the Great affixed there the Roman eagle emblem and when Antiochus Epiphanes erected a statue of Zeus in the Temple and sacrificed a pig on the altar.  Where were the temple guards at that time? 

But when I read the Bible, I want to know how it might apply to me.  Here are some thoughts:

–My body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who lives in me (I Cor. 3:16 & 6:19).  Nothing unclean should be allowed to enter, nothing unworthy of sharing that space with God. 

–The main “gates” into this temple are my eyes and ears.  What am I looking at?  Reading?  Listening to? Thinking about?  Are these things pure and worthy of the One who lives inside me?

A child’s song says “O be careful, little eyes what you see, for the Father up above is looking down in love” and “O be careful, little ears what you hear” for the same reason!  Here’s a link to that song, by the way: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NwOzGC8Wr8k 

I want my body to be a worthy dwelling for God.  I don’t want to grieve Him by introducing disgusting or worthless things into the place reserved for Him.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

