Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Musings on a Thimble

Silver_thimble_(1)  Last month I had the privilege of passing on a very special thimble to my 13-year-old granddaughter. Its specialness is not just because it’s made of silver, but because it was given to me by my grandmother.  I well remember the day when she stopped me in the hallway of her house and presented it to me, telling me that it had been given to her by an uncle when she was a girl and that she was now giving it to me as the eldest granddaughter.

Frankly, I’ve never used a thimble for sewing except on the rare occasion when  dealing with some especially tough fabric.  I suspect that a lot more thimbles used decoratively than for their original purpose.  And we’re all familiar with the phrase “a thimble full of” something.  A Google search just now produced over 100,000 results.

The other day I was musing over my feelings in relation to God and all the things I feel I ought to be doing.  Feeling guilty about never getting them all done.  Never praying enough, getting behind in my work, procrastinating about getting in touch with a friend I haven’t seen for a while, feeling so inadequate in my knowledge of God.  He is like a huge ocean, and here I am, a puny human standing on the shore trying to take it all in.  But God comes and gives me a thimble, promising to fill it each day with just the part of the ocean he wants me to handle for that day.

So today, let me take and savor this day’s thimbleful of life.  Tomorrow there will be another, and so on each day.  I don’t have to worry about the rest of it. There will be all eternity for that.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

