Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

The Biggest Questions

Today on a blog, I found a series of questions that everyone asks sometime in their life.

  1. Who am I?
  2. Why am I here?
  3. Where am I going?
  4. What is true?
  5. What is it you are really willing to do to live your life? 
            (
    Neil Thrussel’s blog, Best U Can B)

Also this morning, as I began reading the Gospel of John again, I wrote a suggestion at the top of the page for the sake of my granddaughter who will later receive this Bible, to watch for these key questions that arise repeatedly in this book:

Who is Jesus?
Where did he come from?
Where is he going?
(It also says a lot about truth.)

The answers were and are straightforward for anyone who believes Jesus’ own words about himself: 

Who is Jesus?  He is the Son of God who took on human nature in order to show humankind the face of God and then to take the punishment for our sins.

Where did he come from?  From heaven, born in Bethlehem as a human baby.

Where was he going?  Back to his Father.

Truth?  “I am the way, the truth, and the life.”

Quite simple, but impossible for those who chose not to believe.  As it still is today.

Now what about me?  Based on my relationship with Jesus, my answers would be much like his:

Who am I?  A much-loved child of God, saved from the well-deserved punishment for my sins.

Where did I come from?  God specially designed me before the world was made, chose me to be his, and skillfully put me together in my mother’s womb (Ephesians 1:4; Psalm 139).

Where am I going?  I am a citizen of heaven, and that’s where I will be going when this life is over. 

What is absolute truth?  God and His word is the source and standard of all truth.

That leaves us with the last question in the blog quoted above: 
What is it you are really willing to do to live your life? 

Do you dare to risk everything on the premise that Jesus Christ is who he says he is?  This means total commitment.  It means assurance of God’s love and forgiveness, presence and power for each day no matter what the circumstances.  It means citizenship in heaven where you will retire someday and fulfill all the dreams you ever dared to dream—and more!  What could be more important than that?

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

