Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Living in an Insane World

If you want to get depressed, just read the headlines.  Horrible diseases, old and new enemies invading and terrorizing, environmental catastrophes, incredible violence inflicted by individuals on one another—and more! 

How can we who know the Lord live sanely in this insane world?  I found a four-fold plan in 1 Peter 4:7-10 that can keep our hearts at peace and our lives profitably occupied:

“The end of everything is near.  Therefore…”

1.  Practice self-control. (v. 7)

A healthy balance in all things; wise use of time and resources; curbing sinful & selfish impulses; being controlled by the Holy Spirit

2.  Keep my mind clear so I can pray. (v. 7)

Prayer is priority.  Shut out distracting “noise.”  Ask God to help me think about what is true, pure, and worthy.  Remember that prayer taps God’s power to accomplish His amazing purposes.

3.  Love other believers warmly. (v. 8-9)

Delight in serving them unselfishly.  Remember they are my brothers and sisters, much loved by our mutual Father. 

4.  Use the abilities God has given me to serve others and glorify God. (v. 10)

What are my gifts?  Speaking?  Showing kindness?  Helping?  Mentoring? Writing?  Music?  What about yours?

Focusing on these priorities will keep me too busy to worry and wring my hands.  For us who belong to the Lord, this life is a journey to heaven.  The destination brings hope and meaning to the trials along the way.

Here’s a beautiful song that I have come to love recently:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zEy018wXZI4

“Jesus Draw Me Ever Nearer”

Jesus draw me ever nearer
As I labour through the storm.
You have called me to this passage,
and I’ll follow, though I’m worn.

May this journey bring a blessing,
May I rise on wings of faith;
And at the end of my heart’s testing,
With Your likeness let me wake.

Jesus guide me through the tempest;
Keep my spirit staid and sure.
When the midnight meets the morning,
Let me love You even more.

Let the treasures of the trial                                 
Form within me as I go –
And at the end of this long passage,
Let me leave them at Your throne.

Music by Keith Getty; Words by Margaret Becker
Copyright © 2002 Thankyou Music

Comments on: "Living in an Insane World" (3)

  1. oh, Donna…that’s the song i gave to my sister during her cancer last year! i love it too. and i love the thoughts from Philippians that you’ve shared to help us keep our focus off of the craziness and the ensuing worry. thank you. i’m going to spend some more time reading through that passage and thinking on it. blessings! ♥

  2. Donna, I sent this post on to a good friend who is struggling today with a feeling of despair. There would be good reason to give up after listening to the news headlines if we did not have the Lord. The song is beautiful, especially the lyrics. Thank you for your faithful serving.

    • Thanks so much, Sue. Every day we see more but rather than causing us to give up, it must strengthen our resolve. We were blessed this morning with the contrast between Saul’s and Jonathan’s responses to threat in 13 & 14.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

