Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Which Is the Real World?

In a theater, you’re in another world.  Especially this time.  We had gone to see the movie, “Son of God.”  I love Jesus, I love the Bible, and I loved this movie!  It drew me in, stoking the fires of delight, truth, and passion as Jesus astounded his own followers and throngs of onlookers with his authoritative teaching, his powerful miracles, his surrender to the suffering that would bring them forgiveness and new life, and then the compelling end in two scenes:

After Jesus had given his disciples their assignment of taking this Good News to the world and then ascended to heaven, Peter gets up and urges the others, “We’ve got work to do!” 

Then we see the apostle John 60 years later, living a lonely existence on a prison island–when his best Friend appears to him in gleaming white, holding his nail-scarred hand out to him and identifying himself as “the First and the Last” and speaking of the final act in heaven when there will be no more tears, crying or pain.  (John wrote this down for us to read in the book of Revelation.  See especially chapters 1, 21 & 22). 

The movie over, we walked out of the theater in a daze, overwhelmed by the impact of the love, suffering, beauty and truth we’d just seen.  Suddenly I staggered under the blast of the mob scene—or rather, the mall scene:  loud music, people shopping, playing video games, eating, chatting, moving around in an artificial world, consumed with trivia.  Normally when one exits a theater, he is leaving a world of make-believe to re-enter the real world.  However, on this occasion I think it was reversed.

Which is the real world?  I don’t want to waste my time and energies on what is temporary and trivial!  I want to be motivated by those two scenes at the end of the movie. 

–“We have work to do!”  This is the task of Christ’s followers for today and as long as this world lasts.  It will cost us; He promised that, but it’s the life of ultimate fulfillment and joy.  And it will be worthwhile because…

–When it is finished, we who follow Him will enjoy that wonderful new life with Him, where all tears and pain will be only memories, where our dearest dreams come true.  And it will be much more real than this world we live in today.  That is the ultimate reality.

In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise
In the morning, when I rise, give me Jesus

Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus

When I am alone
When I am alone
When I am alone, give me Jesus

Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world,
But give me Jesus

When I come to die
When I come to die
When I come to die, give me Jesus

Listen to Fernando Ortega sing this at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9rZ8k9m2hwo

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

