Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Divine Tryst

Moses had two places where he would go regularly to meet with God:

1.  Up on Mount Sinai. God’s appearance on the mountain was announced by fire and billowing smoke, thunder and lightning, earthquake and a crescendo of trumpet blast.  The people were scared out of their wits, but Moses didn’t hesitate to go up whenever God called him to receive instructions on behalf of the people.  He had courage in the presence of the One who loved him and had chosen him for service.

2.  In a temporary “tent of meeting” that Moses set up outside the camp before the Tabernacle was built.  Moses spent a lot of time in there.  God met him and spoke to him personally, “as a man speaks with his friend.”  (Exodus 33:11)  How amazing is that–to be considered God’s friend!!!

But fast-forward.  I do have a “tent of meeting”!  It’s a rocking chair in the corner of my living room.  Or the kitchen where I sing as I prepare food.  Or deep in my heart as I give thanks and express my love to this Heavenly Friend.  When I curl up in my chair in the morning with my Bible and a cup of coffee, how I wish he’d have a cup, too (would He take sugar and cream?)—and that I could hear his voice and see his face.  But I know He’s there with me, and one day I will see His face. (Revelation 22:4)  Imagine his smile of delight as He welcomes me home! Smile

There is a quiet place
Far from the rapid pace
Where God can soothe my troubled mind

Sheltered by tree and flow’r
There in my quiet hour
With Him my cares are left behind

Whether a garden small
Or on a mountain tall

New strength and courage there I find
Then from this quiet place
I go prepared to face
A new day with love for all mankind  (by Ralph Carmichael)

You can listen to the song at this website:  http://offthesanctuarywall.blogspot.com/2010/11/lyrics-there-is-quiet-place.html

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

