Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

The Best Invitations

I love to be included.  When I was 3-4 years old, some young mothers and babies were sitting on a blanket on the grass between our house and the neighbors’.  I felt left out and was sort of hanging around hoping for an invitation, when one of the ladies said, “Would you like to join us?”  I wasn’t sure what “join” meant so I ran back into the house to ask my mom!

A few days ago I wrote about Jesus’ invitation to four fishermen to COME with him.  That word is one of the most inviting in the Bible. When Jesus utters this invitation, my heart says, “Yes!  I’m coming!”

“Come follow me”—to a life of companionship & discipleship  (Mt. 4:19)

“Come to me all you weary and burdened, and I will give you rest!” (Mt. 11:28)

“Come”—to Peter who asked for an invitation to walk on the water (Mt. 14:29)

“Come you have been blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you!” (Mt. 25:34)

“Come with me privately to a quiet place and rest a little.” (Mk. 6:31)

“Come and see (where I’m staying).”  And they spent the rest of the day      getting acquainted with Jesus Smile.  (Jn. 1:46)

“Come eat breakfast (on the beach).”  (Jn. 21:12)

Can’t you just see Jesus smile, sparkling eyes, and extended hand?  Who could resist an invitation to hang out with the one who loves us more than we could imagine, who made us, watches over us,  gave His life to save ours, knows us inside and out,and keeps on loving us all the more?  Here’s one more:

The spirit and the bride (God’s people) say, “Come!” (Rev. 22:17) 

This is the invitation for all those who hear God’s call and thirst for the eternal life that He is freely offering.  Why not accept?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

