Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Every Step of the Way

I didn’t have a choice.  It was straight up—a loooong way up!  A ladder of sorts was built into the vertical side of this wadi and our group was exiting that way.  With others climbing up before me and right behind, I couldn’t look up or down.   I just had to focus on one step at a time.  If anyone had told me that morning what I’d have to do that day, I might have tried to beg off.  But as it is, I learned a valuable lesson that day in Israel about God’s provision of strength and courage every step of the way.

Wadi Zin 1

Each morning as consciousness dawns on me, I greet the Lord with thanks for sleep and for the newness of another day.  Then I mentally review my plans for the day while acknowledging that He may have some surprises in store to be meted out along with the grace to handle them. 

I’m reminded of a simple song my mother taught me as a child:

Step by step I’ll follow Jesus
Hour by hour I’m in his care
Day by day He walks beside me
Through the years I know He’s there.
He can still the mighty tempest
He can calm the troubled sea
He the waters trod, He’s the Son of God
He’s the One who always walks with me!
                                              (author unknown)

Comments on: "Every Step of the Way" (2)

  1. That’s a song that comes back to me now and then too. 🙂 And thanks too for the thoughts / lessons from your steep climb, step by step –a good analogy for us to keep in mind when our path gets steep and scary.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

