Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Queen for Two Hours

As I fish my mini-Hershey bar out of my purse, I remember how it felt to be “Queen for Two Hours.” (Some of you may remember the TV show “Queen for a Day” from the early 60s.) A couple of days ago I was promoted to first class on a domestic flight!  I’d always wondered how it would feel to be boarded first into the front seats and then sip one’s drink while watching the ordinary people (“the unwashed masses” according to comedian Tim Hawkins http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s_xV4NL9aSc) coming through on their way to the nether regions of the plane (which is normally my own lot). 

Though I felt totally unworthy of the special treatment, I settled in to enjoy this experience for all it was worth.  As I sipped coffee and nibbled on chocolate, I pulled out my Bible and read once again the story of Queen Esther.  In this fascinating story, not one word is said about Esther enjoying the perks of her office.  Instead, she is honored for risking her life to save her people from certain genocide. 

Her cousin urged her to action:

Who knows if perhaps you were made queen for just such a time as this?

Her reply: 

“Do not eat or drink for three days, night or day. My maids and I will do the same. And then, though it is against the law, I will go in to see the king. If I must die, I must die.”

What might be the special purpose God has for me to fulfill in this life?  Or even in this day?  What will be the risks?  God, give me the wisdom and commitment to fulfill Your wise and wonderful plan for me no matter what it may cost me! 

P.S. To find out what happened, read the book of Esther yourself.  It’s a real page-turner!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

