Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

From Horror to Hope

I’m a bookworm, but I don’t buy, keep, or re-read books unless they’re very, very special.  Those that merit a permanent place on our bookshelves are the exceptions.  Today I want to share an exceptional book with you which my husband and I have just read together.  It is truly a keeper!

River Kwai2

Miracle on the River Kwai, by Ernest Gordon, is a story of grace in the worst possible of circumstances.  Under the most extreme duress, despair and hopelessness were transformed to faith in God, redemption, and selfless love for one another.  It began with a few POWs who sacrificially served and even laid down their lives to save others in what had been a dog-eat-dog environment, every man for himself.  The power of God changed lives long-term as they served, taught, shared and worshipped with one another for several years as the war raged on.  When they were finally released, one of the men said, “I wouldn’t have missed it for anything.  It was rough, all right.  But I learned an awful lot that I couldn’t have learned at the university or anywhere else.” 

When hard times come for me, I pray that God’s grace and power will do the same, shining through the darkness to refine my character in ways that may not be possible through peace time.

Comments on: "From Horror to Hope" (3)

  1. I will have to read it! Love true stories!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

