Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Heavenly Perfume

As we pass by a walled garden on the way to work, an exquisite fragrance reaches out and captivates me.  How I’d love to find the source and bottle it!  I try to peek over the high wall but can’t see anything particularly attractive.  I have no idea what that flower looks like, but its smell is tantalizing!

How do I smell to those passing by me every day?  Do I smell like Jesus?  How people perceive His fragrance might differ, though. 

Our lives are a Christ-like fragrance rising up to God. But this fragrance is perceived differently by those who are being saved and by those who are perishing. To those who are perishing, we are a dreadful smell of death and doom. But to those who are being saved, we are a life-giving perfume.”                (2 Corinthians 2:15-16)

It’s like the durian fruit so famous in the city where I live. Depending on your own make-up, it smells either heavenly or like garbage.  But those perceptions can change.  When we were first exposed to this fruit, brought as a gift by a neighbor, we had to keep it outside on the porch.  But by now, I actually enjoy its aroma.

Those who may at first be repelled by the “fragrance of Christ” might later on recognize just how sweet He is.  I pray it will be so!

Maranatha!  Come Lord Jesus!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

