Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Celebrating Life

People said it was the most amazing funeral they’d ever been to.  At the visitation we family members all wore bright yellow t-shirts, our granddaughter Emmeline’s favorite color.  It’s a color of joy and of the confidence we have that she is now enjoying the delights of heaven that we are all looking forward to.  And when we get there, she will enjoy being our tour guide.

As the casket came down the aisle at the beginning of the service, her uncle (who happens to be a professional singer) opened our imagination with this song:

I dreamed of a city called Glory, so bright and so fair
As I entered that gate, I cried holy
All the angels met me there
They carried me from mansion to mansion
And all the sights I saw
I said I want to see Jesus, the One who died for all

I bowed on my knees and cried Holy, holy, holy
I clapped my hands and sang glory,
Glory to the Son of God
Glory to the Son of God

When I entered the gates of the city
My loved ones all knew me well
They took me down the streets of heaven
All the saints were too many to tell
I saw Abraham, Jacob and Isaac
Talked with Mark, sat down with Timothy
But then I said, I want to see Jesus, the One who died for me  (by Bill Gaither)

After Emmeline’s “earth-suit” (as my brother calls it) was lowered into the earth, we celebrated the flight of her spirit into her heavenly home by releasing yellow balloons into the sky and watching until they were out of sight. Death is the last enemy but not the victor.  Christ has defeated death, and we who are His participate in His victory!

Balloons at Emmeline's funeral

Comments on: "Celebrating Life" (3)

  1. Thank you for providing these details, Donna, from the services celebrating Emmeline’s life. We were with you in our hearts and our prayers — and will continue to lift up to God in the days to come.

  2. barbara r said:

    this is beautiful, Donna. i’ve been thinking of you all often since i heard the news. ♥ praying for peace, for comfort as you think of little Emmeline enjoying the presence of Jesus.

    weeping endures for the night…may joy come in the morning.

    • Thank you, Barbara. I’m thinking of your sister and wondering how she is. God is at work in all these situations. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

