Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Crawling off the Altar

I was sitting in a church in a remote part of the world where offerings included not only money but also whatever the members had to give.  A live chicken that was tied to the altar managed to get away in the middle of the service, to the delight of some little boys who ran to retrieve it.  Another Sunday in another church, a very recently caught fish on the altar.startled the congregation by actually jumping off the altar.  These “living sacrifices” were obviously not committed!

These events brought to mind Romans 12:1 and the saying I’ve heard somewhere:  “The problem with a living sacrifice is that it’s always crawling off the altar.”

And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him.  Romans 12:1

I confess that often I need to examine myself to see if I’m still on the altar.  Do I still demand or expect to determine my own way, my own choices in life?  Am I joyfully committed to whatever God has for me today?

Comments on: "Crawling off the Altar" (1)

  1. barbara r said:

    GREAT story, Donna. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

