Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

“What have you done?!?!”  We chuckle fondly at how our non-native English speaking friend expressed her amazement (which might otherwise be taken as a rebuke) at how my husband had been able to open a door she’d been struggling with. (We would have said it this way: “How did you do that?”)

“What are you doing in the world?” was my own inquiry as a child when I wondered what my mom was doing.  Again, a naïve twist on a simple question can prompt one to think more deeply about important issues.

What have I done?  What am I doing?  Why has God put me where I am now?  I may have some plans for today, but I want to remain flexible and see where He takes me.  My goal in life is not to find myself but to seek and follow Him and fulfill the higher purposes He has made me for.  Why settle for anything less?

Just yesterday we were delighted at how He brought us together with a couple of “strangers” in a public transportation van who actually turned out to be our brother and sister in God’s family.  What a delightful time we had, getting acquainted and sharing our God stories.  One even turned out to be a good friend of my first-grade teacher and mother of my sister’s high school classmate!

What surprises and opportunities does today hold?  Lord, keep my eyes open, teach me, lead me, delight me, and make me a blessing!  Fulfill Your purposes in and through me today!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

