Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

“If only I had not kept the car, we could have gotten out more,” Schindler is quoted as saying at the end of the movie bearing his name.  This line haunts me.  After all the heroic and sacrificial things that this man did to save Jews from the Holocaust, he wished he’d given up more of the things he took for granted in his privileged life.  In the end, those things didn’t count.

What will I feel and say when I stand before my Lord on that final day?  Will I regret wasted time, self-preoccupation, attention squandered on things that have no eternal value?  I am challenged to daily re-evaluate my priorities and invest my life in the things that really matter, even if it means sacrifice.  I’m also deeply moved by this song:

By and by when I look on His face,
Beautiful face, thorn shadowed face;
By and by when I look on His face,
I’ll wish I had given Him more.
More, so much more,
More of my life than I e’er gave before
By and by when I look on His face,
I’ll wish I had given Him more.

In the light of that heavenly place,
Light from His face, beautiful face;
In the light of that heavenly place,
I’ll wish I had given Him more.
More, so much more,
Treasures unbounded for Him I adore,
By and by when I look on His face,
I’ll wish I had given Him more.

–by Grace Reese Adkins

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

