Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

I love word plays.  For example, the phrase “coming for me” could mean either “coming for my benefit” or “coming to get me.”  A Christmas song I found recently focuses on the first sense:

If You had not come, tender baby King
And humbly left Your throne to reach someone like me
If You had not walked upon this broken ground
Where on earth would I be now?
If You had not come

Love came for me, Love rescued me
Love called my name, Love took my place
Sweet Lamb of God, I’m bowing down
My eyes have seen; I’m finally free
Love came for me
       (“Love Came for Me.”by Shannon Wexelberg)

But that’s only half of the story.  Christ’s second “coming for me” is found in the last verse of an older song expressing the joyful anticipation of God’s people:

Coming for me, coming for me,
One day to earth He is coming for me;
Then with what joy His dear face I shall see,
O how I praise Him He’s coming for me!
         (“Wounded for Me,” 5th verse by Gladys Wescott Roberts)

This is so much more exciting even than a child counting the days till Christmas!    Could it be this year? 

Comments on: "Coming for me—once and again" (2)

  1. I’ve never heard that song before. It has an amazing perspective.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

