Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Painful Reminders

I can identify with Jacob these days. 

After this conniving character met God face-to-face – and even wrestled with Him – he was never the same.  He had a memento of that occasion to constantly remind him of that life-changing encounter:  a limp where God had touched his thigh and put it out of joint!  (Genesis 32:22-32) 

Paul also had an irritating “thorn in the flesh” which reminded him of his dependence on God.  Some think it was an eye problem related to his life-changing encounter with God on the road to Damascus. 

Lately I have developed a pain in my left hip that plagues me with every step.  Instead of complaining about it, I’d like God to use it to remind me to stay humble and dependent on Him.  That’s when I’ll truly be strong.  Even if it hurts a bit.

To keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud.  Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away.  Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me…. For when I am weak, then I am strong.  (2 Cor. 12:7-10 NLT)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

