Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

What if…

Habakkuk is famous for his statement of hope in the the face of impending calamity .  First he describes the total devastation of all the staple foods of his land, then he switches the focus to his all-sufficient God and holds it there. 

Even though the fig trees have no blossoms,
and there are no grapes on the vines;
even though the olive crop fails,
and the fields lie empty and barren;
even though the flocks die in the fields,
and the cattle barns are empty,
yet I will rejoice in the LORD!
I will be joyful in the God of my salvation!
The Sovereign LORD is my strength! 
(3:17-18)

How might we paraphrase this for our day?

Even though drought burns up the crops of the Midwest
and super hurricanes devastate coastal cities;
even though the stock market crashes, 
our jobs disappear and fuel grows scarce;
even though mysterious diseases run rampant
and nuclear war breaks out;
(and all the other horrible things we imagine and fear)—
yet I will rejoice in the LORD!
I will be joyful in the God of my salvation!
The Sovereign LORD is my strength!

AMEN!!  Rainbow

Comments on: "What if…" (2)

  1. Mary and Bill said:

    This has to be out outlook, especially in the light of what has just occurred in the US!!

    • We live in times that can be viewed as both exciting and scary. But I want to keep holding ever more tightly to my Father’s hand like a child walking through danger. Better yet, be carried in His arms…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

