Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

A Quiet Place

We found a delightful place yesterday in a mountaintop garden to spend some time with God.  This beautiful song from the 60s describes it well:

100_3654

There is a Quiet Place

There is a quiet place
Far from the rapid pace
Where God can soothe my troubled mind

Sheltered by tree and flow’r
There in my quiet hour
With Him my cares are left behind

Whether a garden small
Or on a mountain tall
New strength and courage there I find

Then from this quiet place
I go prepared to face
A new day with love for all mankind

by Ralph Carmichael, 1967

100_3659

Comments on: "A Quiet Place" (2)

  1. Becky Burton said:

    That song has often come to mind for me too. . . the “mountain tall” referring to the great view we used to enjoy from the porch of our village home in the mountains, or the view of the mountains from our back porch at the mission center, both of which are now only pleasant memories. But even here in the city, I enjoy a “garden small” just outside my small office window. 🙂 Sitting there just this morning, I was thinking that although I miss the “mountain tall,” I enjoy the “garden small” almost as much –with a few tropical plants including a “duranta” bush, the birds that fly in and out of it, the kitties that sit on the wall, a couple of flowers within view, the blue sky above, plus the sounds of birds chirping and distant roosters crowing, and the coolness of a welcome morning breeze!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

