Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Packing Light

“All I need for an overnight trip is my towel and flip-flops.  Put them in a bag and I’m complete!”  Words of contentment from a young man in a remote community.  On another occasion, an older woman of that community told us that she’s content as long as she has a toothbrush and a couple of other things (which I unfortunately forgot).  And me?  What-all do I consider essential? 

Contentment is focused three times in the letters of the New Testament.

Contentment enables us to focus on the tasks that God has for us to do.

Not that I was ever in need, for I have learned how to get along happily whether I have much or little. I know how to live on almost nothing or with everything. I have learned the secret of living in every situation, whether it is with a full stomach or empty, with plenty or little. For I can do everything with the help of Christ who gives me the strength I need.  (Philippians 4:11-13 NLT Written from prison!)

Contentment protects us from sin. 

Yet true religion with contentment is great wealth. After all, we didn’t bring anything with us when we came into the world, and we certainly cannot carry anything with us when we die. So if we have enough food and clothing, let us be content. But people who long to be rich fall into temptation and are trapped by many foolish and harmful desires that plunge them into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is at the root of all kinds of evil. And some people, craving money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many sorrows.  (1 Timothy 6:6-10)

Contentment is based on God’s presence and protection.  If God is with me, that’s all I need.

Stay away from the love of money; be satisfied with what you have. For God has said,
“I will never fail you.
I will never forsake you.”
That is why we can say with confidence,
“The Lord is my helper,
so I will not be afraid.
What can mere mortals do to me?”  (Hebrews 13:5-6)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

