Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Like a Child

She must have been 4 or 5 years old, standing on the pew between her dad and mom as we all worshipped.  Her dad was totally focused on God as he prayed and sang.  But the girl’s focus was on her dad, wide-eyed, studying his face intently as he was oblivious of her.  And when we sang, she sang too—with gusto.  Obviously she had learned from her parents not only the words of this song but also their wholehearted worship.  This vignette says so much to me about being a worthy parent and also about the kind of childlikeness that Jesus commends.

Here’s a song I appreciate, entitled “Lover of the Children.”  (Sorry I forgot to get the name of the author which is in my book at home.)

Walkin’ in the sunshine, laughin’ in the rain;
Lover of the children, make me young again.
Climbing in the treetops, running down the shore;
Lover of the children, make me young once more.

Vigorous and daring, teachable and mild;
Love of the children, make me like a child.
Trusting to your goodness, walking where you lead;
Lover of the children, make me young indeed.

Make me young enough to know that alone I dare not go
     through the darkness of the night. 
Make me young enough to see that your love will never let me go.
Make me open to surprise,
       put wonder in my eyes,
             make my vision clear and bright.
Make me willing to be led and to follow where you bid me go.

Fearing not tomorrow, trusting you today;
Lover of the children, make me young, I pray.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

