Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

The Ideal Place to Live

Occasionally my husband and I walk in a gated community where we gawk at incredible mansions.  While I’m glad I don’t have to pay the taxes and upkeep on such things, there’s no denying that it would be fun to see inside and to stay for a few nights. 

Then I muse on what kind of a “mansion” my Father is preparing for me in heaven.  Abraham shares my thoughts. He lived in tents like a stranger in a foreign country because “he was looking forward to the city with foundations, whose architect and builder is God” (Heb. 11:10).  And now I follow suit.  “For here we do not have an enduring city, but we are looking for the city that is to come” (13:14).

When I feel out of place here on earth, it’s because I’m a foreigner whose real address is in heaven.  I am here on business for my King, and when that is finished, I’ll be welcomed home to the incredible place He is preparing for me.

I’m satisfied with just a cottage below,
A little silver and a little gold;
But in that city where the ransomed will shine,
I want a gold one that’s silver-lined.

Chorus:
I’ve got a mansion just over the hilltop,
In that bright land where we’ll never grow old;
And someday yonder we will never more wander,
But walk the streets that are purest gold.

Tho’ often tempted, tormented and tested
And, like the prophet, my pillow a stone,
And tho’ I find here no permanent dwelling,
I know He’ll give me a mansion my own.

Don’t think me poor or deserted or lonely,
I’m not discouraged, I’m heaven bound;
I’m just a pilgrim in search of a city,
I want a mansion, a harp and a crown.

Lyrics and Composer: Ira F. Stanphill, 1914.

Comments on: "The Ideal Place to Live" (2)

  1. I am blessed by these article of yours Donna, truly we are foreigners here on earth, yes like you we now live in a temporary home but we have great hopes of a mansion in heaven! And the song “mansion over the hilltop” is my Mama’s favorite song, and we always sing it too when we are gathered for fellowship at home. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

