Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

On the Winning Team

Being totally non-athletic, I have painful memories of being the last chosen whenever teams were picked for recess softball games.  But one ironic incident stands out in my mind.  On this day, the teacher of my one-room rural Nebraska elementary school (yes, grades K-8 taught by one teacher) asked me and another student to choose up sides.  Wow, this was my big chance to be on the winning side!  I did my best to choose the bigger kids who did well in sports.  But to my chagrin I found out, after the teams were chosen, that this was not for an athletic competition.  It was a contest to see who could eat the healthiest breakfasts for the next week! 

The book of Daniel is still on my mind.  God humiliated and defeated proud kings, and they had to admit that God’s kingdom is the only one that will never be destroyed; His rule will never end (see 4:34-37 & 6:26-27). Though it may look like evil is surely winning, we know the end of the story.  And I’m happy to know that I’m on the winning team.  My Champion is in the wings, coaching us players through long, wearying plays.  But I can hardly wait until he finally bursts out onto the playing field, single-handedly blows away his enemies and wins the ultimate victory!  Won’t that be the day!  So let’s hang in there.  It will be worth it.  And what a victory celebration is being prepared for us—out of this world!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

