Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Up the Laundry Wall

What do you do with a dead cockroach?  I mean these biggies that are 1 1/2 inches long.  Well, it’s not a problem if our ant clean-up crew gets to them first.  Yesterday when I went to hang the laundry, I was captivated by the team efforts of small ants who had already hauled a cockroach carcass several inches up the 6-foot-plus wall.  Some were holding onto the legs, pulling.  Others were holding onto their companions, forming chains.  Others were running around, either “cheerleading” or not knowing what to do!  (Here’s a photo I took on a similar occasion.)

Ants carrying cockroach, cropped

During the few minutes that I hung that load of clothes out, the efforts apparently failed, and the whole shebang ended up back down at the bottom of the wall.  But as I looked again, they had made several inches of progress.  By the time we left for work an hour later, I went back to see what was happening.  Nothing!  All gone!  Apparently their persistence had paid off.  I would have loved to see that great heave-ho as they made it over the top.

How many tries did it take?  Did they ever think of giving up? 

Take a lesson from the ants, you lazybones.
Learn from their ways and become wise!   Proverbs 6:6 (NLT)

Comments on: "Up the Laundry Wall" (4)

  1. Becky Burton said:

    Yes, I admit I sometimes admire the ants for their perseverance (and organization!)–even though they are a pain and constant hassle in my kitchen, etc.!

  2. I love the connections you make with daily things in our lives and scripture.

  3. barbara r said:

    This is a reminder…I don’t miss the ants! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

