Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

On Turning 60

I just turned 60.  In the country where I live, I’m now a “senior citizen.”  I also received my Golden Buckeye Card from the Ohio Department of Aging.  Wow!

Am I old or not?  When we visit older people, they exclaim that I haven’t aged a day in the past few decades!  When we visited our grandchildren, 4-year-old Lillian declared “You look like a grandma.”  When asked what a grandma looks like, she said, “An old lady.”

Does it matter?  I’m on a journey.  Traveling from conception to heaven.  How much of that has been covered by now?  I have no idea.  But with every birthday (actually, every moment), that goal gets nearer.  What an exciting thought.

But in the meantime, I sometimes struggle about how much to care about learning new things or trying to make a difference when my efforts resemble swimming upstream.  I am reminded of Paul’s resolve and commitment to keep on pressing toward the goal for which Christ had chosen him. (Philippians 3:12-14) And how can I refuse to do the same?  God, give me resolve, strength, wisdom—and joy in the part of the journey that remains! 

By the way, here’s a photo of me (2nd from left) and some dear friends who surprised me the other day to celebrate this milestone.

100_3559

Comments on: "On Turning 60" (3)

  1. Happy birthday Donna, indeed you don’t like one, may God Almighty continue to shower you with wisdom for the ministry for God’s glory.

  2. barbara r said:

    Wonderful!!! Happy Belated Birthday, Donna!! I wish I could have joined you there around Becky’s table, but it looks like a fabulous party. ♥

    • I’m so thankful for the opportunity to have borrowed that movie from you! Thanks again. Blessings on your travels. We look forward to having you back.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

