Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Makeover

I’m always fascinated by those “before and after” pictures.  Once I decided to submit myself for a free makeover at a well-known business that specializes in this.  I went in looking like—well, myself.  And came out looking like-–well, my husband says a witch!  I had to agree.  Finding the nearest restroom, I washed it all off.  It was so not me!

I was reminded of this the other day when reading about the ultimate makeover in Colossians.  Here’s the procedure God has performed and how He sees me:

Before:  You were his enemies, separated from him by your evil thoughts and actions. (1:21)

After:  Now he has reconciled you to himself through the death of Christ …. As a result, he has brought you into his own presence, and you are holy and blameless as you stand before him without a single fault. (1:22)

And the perfect wardrobe to go with that makeover?

Since God chose you to be the holy people he loves, you must clothe yourselves with tenderhearted mercy, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience.…Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds us all together in perfect harmony. Colossians 3:12-15

I wonder what others see when they look at me…?  The “before,” the “after” or the “still becoming”?

Comments on: "Makeover" (3)

  1. Praise GOD for he sees what’s in our hearts and not the physical appearance for they are deceiving, he alone knows our true worth.

  2. barbara r said:

    now this is a makeover i can get excited about!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

