Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

A Ship in a Harbor?

“A ship in a harbor is safe, but that’s not what ships are made for.”  So said a poster we used to have on our wall.  I have always struggled with the desire to be “safe.” 

Think of a child learning to walk.  Between the safety of the chair he’s hanging onto and the outstretched arms of Daddy across the room, there’s a zone of vulnerability.  Will he take the chance?

Between the security of where I am right now and the goals God has for me is a lot of uncharted water–and I can’t swim!

What has God made me for?  I read today about people who began and accomplished amazing things in their 90’s.  And I’m not even 60.  What am I afraid of?  Will I take the chance?  I want to say yes.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

