Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Little Things

As I walked in the door this morning, two national colleagues have greeted me with big smiles and friendly greetings.  I know they must have problems, too, but …

And then coming upstairs, two other colleagues have have asked how I’m doing this morning.  I had to say, “Don’t ask.”

Little things.  Finding a dark ink spot on my white pants as I took them out of the washer, remembering too late that I’d left a pen in my pocket yesterday.  No more laundry detergent (too late for yesterday’s shopping trip).  Making lunch for work with cold, hard, leftover burnt rice–ugh! Sad smile   Hearing of the failure of another Christian leader…

Tears come over small and big things.  But in each of these, there is something to be thankful for, and that’s what I want to do right now:

Thank you, Lord, that the ink didn’t get on other clothes in that load!

Thank you for food to eat every day.

Thank you for your many people who stay faithful to you—and please keep us all (especially leaders) from the power of the Evil One.

And help me to live this day joyfully, prayerfully, and thankfully (1 Thess. 5:16-17).

Comments on: "Little Things" (1)

  1. barbara r said:

    amen! this is how i want to live too…with thanks and joy!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

