Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Growing Tall

Our eldest granddaughter, Emmeline, depends on a daily injection of growth hormone to help her grow.  With the family’s genes, she probably will never be very tall, but we all want her to reach her full potential.  And she is getting there!  A lovely girl whose very life is a miracle.  This photo was taken several years ago as she was just beginning hormone therapy—Daddy marking the growth chart.

North Canton 3 042

I want to reach my potential, too.  To be all that God plans for me to be.  (That’s what “perfection” means in the Bible.)  But I don’t have a spiritual growth chart. How much have I grown since college days when I passionately claimed Paul’s words below as my goal?  God keeps the chart and knows my heart.   One day in heaven I will turn around and see all those marks and hear all the stories about when and how I grew to become what I will be by that time.

I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. …I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.  (Philippians 3:12b-14)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

