Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Watering and Waiting

If it dies, it won’t be because I didn’t water it!  For two weeks now I’ve been conscientiously tending a corner of my tiny front yard where a friend planted a tiny hibiscus twig with a beautiful yellow bud on it.  The original buds and leaves disappeared within a few days and I thought it was a goner.  But I kept watering as instructed, and now there seems to be a new green leaf on it! 

100_3240 - Copy

My mom is great with plants and my dad was an avid gardener.  My own gardening efforts began and ended the summer Dad gave me a little plot in his garden.  I planted four cabbage seeds.  Two of them came up and I watched, fascinated as real heads of cabbage formed in my spot!  Until the day when the bugs riddled them and I hoed them down in frustration.

I’m going to try to be more patient with this hibiscus because I look forward to enjoying a beautiful plant like that.  It reminds me to be faithful in other endeavors where I don’t see any progress, watering them with prayer and maybe sometimes even with tears.  If it’s God’s work, it will turn out beautiful.

By the way, check out this website for a  feast of unfurling flowers:  http://tinyurl.com/3gxmeze

Comments on: "Watering and Waiting" (2)

  1. Thank you, Donna, for the reminder that good things come to those who water faithfully and then wait patiently on the Lord. This impatient woman needed those words today.

    • Yes, Rebekah, I need to remind myself of that this morning again as a new day begins. We finally got some rain last night so I won’t have to water this morning. But the need to faithfully do this task is also a good reminder to faithfully pray for things that seem impossible.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

