Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Scaredy Cat

I have confessions to make:  I’m a scaredy cat.  Scared of heights.  Scared of water.  Scared of… well, new things and change, and more than I’d like to admit.

But I’m in good company.  Joshua must have been rather nervous about leading the Israelites into Canaan because God and even his people kept telling him, “Don’t be afraid!”  “Be courageous!”  Why?  “God is with you wherever you go.”  (Joshua 1:9, etc.)  

We also read about the Israelites cowering between the Red Sea and the advancing Egyptian army.  And Mary startled by an angel with an astounding announcement.  And shepherds blinded by laser light from heaven.  And the disciples sighting a “ghost” walking on the stormy lake.  And Jairus whose daughter had just died. And many more.  All of these were told “Don’t be afraid.”  Because God is there.

Donna in a wadi

My fear of heights was challenged a few years ago when my husband and I visited Israel and our group walked along a narrow path above Wadi Qilt between Jerusalem and Jericho.  On one side it dropped straight down too far to look (yikes!) and on the other, it went straight up.  I had no alternative but to keep putting one foot ahead of the other, imagining (or maybe it wasn’t my imagination) that I was following my Shepherd along that scary path.  And you know what?  We made it!  It was a faith-growing experience. 

Though I’m still scared of a lot of things, I know that God is with me and will lead me through whatever He permits to happen. 

Comments on: "Scaredy Cat" (1)

  1. Becky Burton said:

    I can sure relate to this one! Thanks for the reminder. 🙂
    –your scaredy-cat little sister

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

