Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

And Your Assignment Is…

Today I listened in on an argument between God and Moses.  It went something like this (see Exodus 3-4).  God’s parts are in all caps.  Note the first person pronouns used by both speakers.

I HAVE SEEN THE MISERY OF MY PEOPLE…SO I HAVE COME DOWN TO RESCUE THEM.  NOW GO!  I’M SENDING YOU TO PHARAOH.

            But who am I to go to Pharaoh?

I WILL BE WITH YOU.

            But who shall I tell the Israelites is sending me?

I AM WHO I AM

            But what if they don’t believe me?

I AM GIVING YOU MIRACLES TO CONVINCE THEM.

            But I can’t speak well.

I MADE YOUR MOUTH AND WILL HELP YOU SPEAK.

            Please send someone else!

(Angrily)  I’LL SEND YOUR BROTHER WITH YOU AND WILL HELP YOU BOTH. 

Two thoughts come to mind:

1.  When God has a job to do, he equips and sends a person to do it.  Where else in the Bible does this happen? 

2.  What does He have for me to do today?  If it’s an “impossible” job, how am I responding? 

3.  Am I focusing on my inadequacies (note Moses’ personal pronouns) or on God’s power (notice the God’s personal pronouns)?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

