Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Letting Go to Grow

What is more exciting than seeing a child take his first steps to a parent who waits with outstretched arms?  But before he can do that, he has to let go of his security anchor before he can learn, practice, and grow!  The same is true of learning to swim or ride a bike.

And where is the parent?  Very near—holding on, cheering, encouraging, assuring, challenging, ready to catch the child if he falls.  (The photo is one of our sons and his daughter.)

Snapshot 8 (11-9-2011 3-06 PM)

Now pan over to the scene of Peter walking on the water to his Lord.  If he wanted to walk on water, he had to leave the boat behind (even though the boat wasn’t feeling too secure right then in that storm!).   And Jesus was there to pick him up when he fell.  (By the way, there’s a great book with a long title:  “If You Want to Walk on Water, You’ve Got to Get Out of the Boat” by John Ortberg.)

Launching out like that is always hard for me.  I value security.  But I need to value even higher my obedience to God, trusting him to hold me up as I venture with Him into the unknown.  Am I ready to go on an adventure with God?  When will it be?  Where are we going?  Oops, I can’t ask that, can I?

Comments on: "Letting Go to Grow" (1)

  1. I love the book you refereed to about walking on water…. I should read it again. I hadn’t thought of the parallel with teaching kids. Great point!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

