Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Corn in the Soybeans

“What are those corn plants doing in the soybean field?” I mused as we drove by. 

100_2981

Of course, I know that they’re “volunteers,” the product of seed from an earlier corn crop.  But I’m always looking for spiritual analogies in the physical world.  Could this be like my sin nature?  Supposedly my life is all made new and those things like selfishness, pettiness, negativeness and pride should be eradicated—right?  Well, to my chagrin they do pop up like those unwanted corn plants which no longer belong and which spoil the perfection of a soybean field.  I’m thankful that “If I confess my sin, [God] is faithful and just to forgive my sin and cleanse me….”       (1 John 1:9) 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

