Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Doubly at Home

Two metaphors come together in Ephesians 3:17 in an interesting way. 

Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. (NLT)

First, try to picture Christ “making his home in your heart.”  Think of him coming in (without knocking, of course), kicking off his shoes, raiding the fridge for a snack, and making himself comfortable in your favorite chair.  Does this idea make me gasp with horror or with delight?  Does He find me running to meet him with my arms open wide or scrambling to hide the stuff he shouldn’t see?  I think I would do the former; I can hardly wait to see Him!  But when He makes Himself at home, He will call the shots.  Am I really ready for that?  (A great resource for exploring this whole idea is My Heart Christ’s Home by Robert Boyd Munger.)

Second, picture your “roots growing down into God’s love.”  Now the situation reverses and we’re the one entering into Christ!   I am stable, strong and secure in God’s limitless love.

Lord, please remind me of this when I am again tempted to feel rootless and homeless.  You are in me and I am in You Smile

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

