Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Stages of Life

We’ve been scanning the family slides dating back to when I was one year old.  Isn’t it funny how we–or is it only I?–tend to look first and primarily at ourselves when seeing a photo that includes other people?

What I see changes a lot– from cute to ugly (those awkward pre-teen years!) to self-conscious, then somewhat attractive, and more lately aging (I’m turning 59 this month!)  How is it that the pictures of myself that I think look pretty bad, look a lot better after a few years?  (We won’t even mention those driver’s license and passport photos!)

It’s so comforting to know that my “earth suit” (as my brother calls it) is only temporary.  I have a better one waiting for me that will be ever so much more beautiful, strong and able to do all those things I never could do here (such as swim, or whistle).

The bodies we now have are weak and subject to death. But they will be changed into bodies that are eternal.   (1 Cor. 15:54 )

Our bodies are gradually dying, but we ourselves are being made stronger each day. These little troubles are getting us ready for an eternal glory that will make all our troubles seem like nothing. Things that are seen don’t last forever, but things that are not seen are eternal. That’s why we keep our minds on the things that cannot be seen.  (2 Cor. 4:16b-18 CEV)

Comments on: "Stages of Life" (1)

  1. I’ve had similar thoughts, when I look in the mirror lately . . . I don’t like getting “old”–especially when it includes illness. Good reminder that these are only our “earth suits” (didn’t remember Mark calling it that)! . . . Hey, we’re here at the hospital–surgery in 4 hours–and we can get some Internet but for some reason can’t get an email connection from our room, so I’m taking this opportunity to communicate with you. We’ll see if it works. Hi to Mom and Ron too. We prayed for you this morning.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

