Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Yesterday I cleaned a dirty window.  This morning as I sit here and see the sun shining through that window, I’m horrified.  What I thought was clean is really a mess of smears going every which way!  Gotta work on that some more today.  Apparently I’ll only know if it’s really clean is when I look at it again tomorrow morning in the sun’s pure light.

If the truth be told, I think I’m pretty good most of the time.  But when I read or see the story of Martin Luther, for example, who was tortured by his many sins (in a monastery!), I wonder what I’m missing.  Recently I read the book, “Respectable Sins” by Jerry Bridges.  It’s like the sun shining through a window pane to reveal those usually-overlooked (by me!) flaws which mar the beauty God intended to be seen in me.  God, please get out your Windex again.  I want your Son-shine to beam through with no distracting smears in the way.

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life.  Psalm 139:23-24 NLT

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

