Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

Freedom Isn’t Free

Last week I saw a movie about the Revolutionary War–a gory and powerful reminder of the cost of our freedom as citizens of what we still believe to be the greatest country on earth.  This was underlined by the statement heard in church yesterday, “Freedom isn’t free.”  I’m afraid that sometimes I consider freedom to be my entitlement, the default mode.  But no—someone always needs to pay the cost.   So today I, along with my fellow Americans, honor those who have paid the ultimate price so we can enjoy the freedoms we regrettably take for granted.  Are we living to our full capacity and caring for this inheritance of ours?

But on a deeper level, I want to honor the One who gave His life to provide freedom from sin and its consequences and to make me a citizen of the eternal Heavenly Kingdom.  How often do I thank Him for it?  Am I living to my full capacity?

…Because the sinless Savior died, my sinful soul is counted free;
For God the Just is satisfied to look on Him and pardon me…

(from a song by Charitie L. Bancroft & Vikki Cook)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

