Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

The Challenge of Change

Since returning to my home country and traveling on highways once again, I am alarmed that I can no longer read road signs at a safe distance. And this morning I strained and struggled to see the verse numbers in my Bible. At the optometrist this morning I found out that, in addition to other things, I’ve developed astigmatism. 

The changes that come naturally with aging are difficult but possibly less threatening than changes we see around us brought about by human agents.  Changes in our organizations, workplaces, economy, government, and more! 

In all of this, there are three things I want to remember about change:

Change in the world and my circumstances is inevitable. Some of it is welcome, but much is unsettling, confusing, threatening, and downright scary.  Is it because it requires me to change—my expectations, comfort zone, sources of security?

 God never changes.  His character, His truth, His plan, His love.  I can count on Him.
1 Sam. 15:29  He doesn’t lie or change his mind.
Ps. 110:4  What he promises/says stands.
Mal. 3:6  I am Yahweh & I do not change.That is why you are not already destroyed!
Jas. 1:17  He does not change like shifting shadow.
Heb. 13:8  Jesus Christ the same yesterday, today & forever!
Heb. 6:18  Unchangeable—God’s promise & oath!

I must change.  Not only to flex with the inevitable changes around me but also to become more like Christ, and fulfill His wonderful plan for my life.
Mt. 18:3  Unless you change & become like little children…
2 Cor. 3:18  As we see God’s glory, we are being changed to be like him & reflect his glory.
1 Cor. 15:51-52  Our bodies will be changed, incorruptible.

Here are some lines from songs and Scripture that I love:
“Change my heart O Lord…May I be like You!”
“Change and decay in all around I see.  O Thou who changest not, abide with me”
“From glory to glory he’s changing me”
“Change my heart, O God..make it be like you”
“In every change he faithful will remain”
“Be still my soul…when change and tears are past,
   all safe and blessed we shall meet at last.”
“He’s still working on me to make me what I ought to be…”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

