Glimpses of grace seen in the everyday

On Being an Alien

For most Americans, an “alien” is a character with malformed facial features and strange-looking appendages.  I hope that doesn’t describe me, even though the government of the country where I happily reside classifies me as an “alien.” I don’t look like the citizens of this country.  I don’t sound like them.  I don’t think like them. 

In a few days, I will present my passport to an immigration official in my home country.  If I’m lucky, he/she will say “Welcome home!”  (That actually happened once. Smile)  I will no longer look or sound different from all the other people in the airport or on the street—or will I?  Actually, I will probably not feel like I belong there either.  Peter says that I am an “alien and stranger in the world” (1 Peter 2:11 NIV) no matter what country I happen to be in.

So where do I belong?  My real citizenship is in heaven (Philippians 3:20).  And I am one of those described as “… chosen people… royal priests…a holy nation, God’s very own possession. (1 Peter 2:9-10 NLT). 

Yes, I’m an alien here.  But more accurately, I’m an ambassador on business for my King!  It shouldn’t worry me if I don’t fit in.

Comments on: "On Being an Alien" (1)

  1. Mary and Bill said:

    I feel the same…..sort of a misfit in a good sense, looking for and journeying to my eternal home!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

